Skip to content

2016 Basic Biomedical Sciences Awards

Funding for these awards began January 1, 2016.

The California HIV/AIDS Research Program is pleased to announce the following nine exciting new projects in basic biomedical science, which have been selected for funding in 2016 under the IDEA Award mechanism.

Longitudinal Imaging of Early HIV Infection in situ

        Dr. Pamela J. Bjorkman, California Institute of Technology

Immunologic Pathways of HIV-1 Persistence

        Dr. Sara Gianella-Weibel, University of California, San Diego

CMV Immune Modulation Amplifies RhCMV/SIV Vaccine Efficacy       

        Dr. Dennis Hartigan-O'Connor, University of California, Davis

HIV-1 Cotranscriptional Splicing: Roles for Tat and NELF

        Dr. Katherine Jones, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Tissue-resident Memory T cells and HIV Latency in the Gut  

        Dr. Shomyseh Sanjabi, The J. David Gladstone Institutes

Reactivation of Latent HIV: Role of Integration Sites       

        Dr. Celsa Spina, Veterans Medical Research Foundation

Broadly neutralizing CARs for HIV therapy

        Dr. Pin Wang, University of Southern California

Growth of HIV-1 Transmission Clusters in LA County

        Dr. Joel Wertheim, University of California, San Diego

The Role of CD28 Family Receptors/Ligands in AIDS-Lymphoma

        Dr. Daniel Widney, University of California, Los Angeles